We Can't Help It!!

Is she really adding stripes? YES!!! Why?  I don’t know!!…..Do you ever have a feeling as an artist or a buyer that you have no control over what you do as an artist or like as an art lover?  It’s just there or it’s not and you can’t explain why. When someone asks you as an art lover “What do you like”, I most often answer, “I’ll know it when I see it.”

So for all those art lovers out there who can’t “help” what they like….just a little secret….we artists can’t “help” what we paint!  I may not be speaking for all the artist’s of the world but when I’m in my studio it’s this bubble of feeling like you can’t make a mistake because every drop of paint or encaustic or paper or any medium you use to create your work WILL without your consent END UP EXACTLY WHERE IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE.  I feel possessed almost and my husband will ask me, What’s it going to look like?, What are you going for here?” and I can’t answer him most often except to say…”he*% if I know!”  I’m just along for the ride!

And the ride is so exhilarating that you can’t breathe sometimes and you step back to look at your work and you think “where the He*% did that come from” or “Did I do that?”  “I couldn’t possibly have done that, I’m not that talented”, but there it is on the canvas and I love it.  Not another soul on the planet may love it, but I do and it came from a place inside me from which I do not know and that alone creates a sacredness about the piece that makes it ok if someone else doesn’t like it.  They don’t have to. The process was sacred to me.

So here we are with my latest piece and my first outdoor show (I’m used to indoor comforts) in one month and this piece literally came from nowhere in a matter of days.  It is very similar to my familiar style but there where some moments here and there, like the stripes and some free-handed painting that just happened and felt so familiar that I wanted to share with you all.

Artists, let your muse do the work for you today and art lovers, love what you love without feeling it necessary to explain why.  We like what we like and it’s all for the same reason….WE CAN’T HELP LOVING IT AND WE CAN’T HELP PAINTING IT!

As always, love and light  WK

Can be purchased at WindyKai.com Print at RedBubble.com

WindyKai.com

RedBubble.com

We Would Love You To Leave a Reply

